Finally beginning the pillow

I know, I know, I’m not the best blogger in the world.  It’s been quite some time since I last talked about the blackwork pillow I’m planning on.  What’s that?  Yes, still planning.  I’m rather slow at the moment, so many other things taking up my attention and time.  And soon, I might even have less time!  I’ll be starting classes this fall, and will be taking on a full course load.  Between that, and possibly a part time job (will have to see when school starts what my options are), I may not have much time or energy to do anything crafty.  But we’ll see.

Anyways, here I am, looking at all my patterns I’ve drawn up, and trying to figure out what’s going to go where.  Initially, the pillow was supposed to 20 inches.   The overall size is going to be just a little smaller, closer to 19 1/2 inches.  Here’s my thinking so far.  I have a 20 inch piece of cloth (well, technically, a 20×24 inch piece, that I was going to trim down), so that’s the maximum size I have to work with.  When you account for a 1/4 inch seam allowance on all sides, that will drop the finished size to 19.5 inches on a side.  Accounting for space between the edge of the embroidery, and the seam, a working area of 18 inches seems pretty decent to me.  Next, I need to figure out pattern placement.

I’m working off of patterns that I’ve sketched up on graph paper that measures 5 squares to an inch.  So my final designs will be much smaller than what I’m seeing on paper (this is one of the reasons I want to get my hands on smaller graph paper).  A part of me is wanting to just say “Oh, screw it!  Toss the designs on wherever they’ll fit!”  And while that’s not a bad idea over all, it can end up looking rather sloppy, unorganized and uncohesive in the end.  Not to mention, if I don’t plan it properly, some elements might not have space to done up properly.

So, yes, I’m at the point where I can begin working on the pillow, even if that work is just planning.  Thought it’s actual planning now, not just gathering ideas.  We’re at the technical phase now.  Back to the graph paper I guess as I try to figure out what elements to place where.  What I think I’m going to do is draw up a mock of the working area, and then block in spaces for each element, based on it’s overall size.  This shouldn’t be too hard, right?  Right.

Also, I know, no pictures yet.  I can’t find the cord to hook my camera up to the computer to download pictures.  Things got shuffled around recently, and all my small electronics lost their cords (I can’t find the one for my mp3 player, so no music when I’m not next to the computer *sad*).  Hopefully, next posting, I’ll have some pictures to add.

Leave a Reply

